Home

egypt

Two goals in the first five minutes of the first over-time were enough to see Egypt past shell-shocked Cameroon in the quarterfinals of the African Cup of Nations at the Complexo da Sr. da Graça in Benguela. Gedo’s 92nd minute nutmeg of Carlos Kameni and Ahmed Hassan’s second goal of the game, a free kick that never actually crossed the goal line stunned Cameroon and gave Egypt a victory that sets up another re-match between themselves and their fierce rivals, Algeria. Hassan’s 26th minute own-goal had given the Indomitable Lions the early lead but the Pharaohs midfielder made amends by knocking in a goal for his own side in the 37th. There the scores stood until Egypt blasted in two immediately into the first over-time period. Cameroon could never recover and crash out of the tournament along with fellow favorites Côte d’Ivoire and hosts Angola.

2 thoughts on “Hate Re-Match on Tap as Egypt Take Out Cameroon

  1. So I went 3-1 on the games last week with Angola being my only miss. I have to tell you I have no idea who to pick now. Egypt v Algeria has the potential to break out in a riot and while I’d prefer Nigeria to win bc it’s nice to see that they’ve rebuilt their team back up to the quality that we’re used too, I find it hard to pick their relatively young squad against experienced albeit Essien-less Ghana.

    Gun to my head I think the final is Ghana v Egypt, which would be good bc Ghana would look to get back at Egypt for winning the last African Cup that was hosted by Ghana who lost in the semifinals.

Leave a comment