Home

It’s been nearly two years since I was last able to explore European football stadia. Here is a more comprehensive treatment, including two live matches. Unfortunately we weren’t able to get to stadia in Belgium (the FC Brussels match we were to attend was cancelled due to extreme cold), Holland or Portugal. Maybe next time.

Stade de France – Saint-Denis, France

Stade Bauer, Red Star FC93 – Saint-Ouen, France

Parc des Princes, Paris Saint-Germain – Paris, France

Camp Nou, FC Barcelona – Barcelona, Spain

Parc de la Catalana, CF Barceloneta – Barcelona, Spain

Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys (formerly home of RCD Espanyol and site of 1992 Summer Olympics) – Barcelona, Spain

Estadio Santiago Bernabéu, Real Madrid CF – Madrid, Spain

Estadio Vicente Calderón, Atlético Madrid – Madrid, Spain

Unknown Former Stadium Site – Lisbon, Portugal

7 thoughts on “European Football Grounds – 2012 Edition

  1. I would love to! Maybe Portland Timbers will visit in pre-season 2013 and I can tag along! Though I’d like to see Råsunda, as well.

    • To see Råsunda you better hurry up. It will be torn down in order to build appartments.
      This season is the last ever played at the arena built in 1937. But a match between AIK and the local rival Djurgarden is magin at Råsunda. I only hope we get the same atmosphere in the new arena. If you come I can be your guide and I might even lend you a couch or bed while in Stockholm.

      • Ha, thanks! Afraid I won’t be able to pull it off before Swedbank Arena opens given how much time I just spent away on the Continent. But if I can ever get over there I’ll let you know!

  2. Hey Mike – I went to Camp Nou last year. I was also able to take in a game at Cornella-El Prat (Espanyol) which was fantastic. Highly recommended. I just got back from the UK. We saw Chelsea and Celtic. Celtic Park is not in the greatest location but we enjoyed it quite a bit. Give me a shout if you want to go to a game at C-Link in Seattle.

Leave a Reply

