Qualifying groups for Euro 2012 were drawn today in Warsaw, setting up campaigns for the Ukraine/Poland hosted tournament. Group play matches will take place between September 2010 and November 2011. No group appears to be particularly deadly, though Group B’s selection of Russia, Slovakia and Ireland could be interesting as none of those sides are fantastic but are all three quite good. Likewise, Group D’s posting of France, Romania and Bosnia stands to be exciting. Traditional rivals Germany, Turkey and Austria will all battle in Group A while Group E ends up being the Scandinavian division with Holland, Sweden and Norway. Here’s how the groups came out:

Group A:
Germany, Turkey, Austria, Belgium, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan

Group B:
Russia, Slovakia, Ireland, Macedonia, Armenia, Andorra

Group C:
Italy, Serbia, Northern Ireland, Slovenia, Estonia, Faroe Islands

Group D:
France, Romania, Bosnia Herzegovina, Belarus, Albania, Luxembourg

Group E:
Holland, Sweden, Finland, Hungary, Moldova, San Marino

Group F:
Croatia, Greece, Israel, Latvia, Georgia, Malta

Group G:
England, Switzerland, Bulgaria, Wales, Montenegro

Group H:
Portugal, Denmark, Norway, Cyprus, Iceland

Group I:
Spain, Czech Republic, Scotland, Lithuania, Liechtenstein


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s